The Coverage of National English ‘SUPER’ Olympiad 2013

A welcoming banner was flagging over the name of our faculty

A welcoming banner was flagging over the name of our faculty

What a nice day to recall something!! Via this reminiscence, I tried to reminisce and bring all stuff back to be recounted to y’all with a great pleasure of mine and my style as well. Not only would this story probably affect your ‘shitty’ life, it would also take you all away back to a time when it happened in the month of Halloween, THAT OCTOBER!

This is another best story ever made yet; I can’t even pick that awesomeness out of my mind for a while. I was a cast in this long journey and my friends were too. Never did I think it would really affect my life on interactions and cooperation my solid team had built so far. Let me steal your souls and put them in a tube fully o’ recording smokes.

This writing is fully and chiefly dedicated to my close-friend, DIMAS GALIH WIJAYA who is lying on his eiderdown to brave his illness when this coverage was being composed. We do miss to see your smile…

This is a truly dedicated writing

This is a truly dedicated writing

April 2013

I think I am still able to collect those missing pieces and lay them over my lap in a cool way. For the first time, couple of days after the anniversary of my English Department, we sat on edge of the evergreen rug discussing the wholesome idea which just popped out of our minds. It was not that easy to award one’s idea for the best than the others’. Not that easiness we did look forward to.

The official poster for National English Olympiad 2013

The official poster for National English Olympiad 2013

Conferring became so much serious that we almost missed out our main goal. Fortunately, it was capable of being settled down neatly as well as controversially. WORLD HERITAGE had just been mentioned for the theme of the year. Some speculated it would just be boredom for any reasons. No matter what it was, that theme took over others.

In a spirit of the Almighty, I did not know what I was feeling about, but God seemed to have whispered me to say that PRESERVE THE NATURE – CONSERVE THE CULTURE was true slap-bang. I tried conveying this idea to the team and approval had just been made for that.

May – September 2013

Supposing I were not in this brilliant team, I would have larked around during my 3-month holiday. I lucked, howsoever, into a part of this backbreaking work I had never done before. My team: Shinta, Uyun, Cita, Ima and Arlita had been trying to make this event look more fabulous and challenging as well. Some opined this so-called NATIONAL ENGLISH OLYMPIAD would just go ruined and I was even pushed to quit of this troublesome event, yet I kept my feet unmoved anywhere else. Staying on your mind, especially the burden of responsibility you must deal with at the same time, proved to be uneasy. Nevertheless, in case you believe in what you are doing, thou shalt gain rape.

Situation in the hall prior to the opening of NEO 2013 'Preliminary Round'

Situation in the hall prior to the opening of NEO 2013 ‘Preliminary Round’

In certain cases, I did not know which one I should do first. Contacting lecturers was so demanding. On the other hand, I had to travel miles away from my hometown to Malang, a small town in the southern East Java, to hold a meeting with my team. If you were me, I am pretty much sure that you would not want your vacation to be distracted and eventually concluded you would not leave. Not everybody is as THUG as my team. We, as one of the most solid team, have done our best to create excellence throughout this long journey.

Stalls were open for anyone

Stalls were open for anyone

October 2013

That day came and neared… willy-nilly we had to be ready for all things gonna happen. One thing for sure was that this event was hosted not only in Malang, but also in other cities, even other islands. Similar to the last year’s event, some of the teammates were flown and assigned to this vac-like job. I would, however, have rejoiced if I had been assigned to it. Unfortunately, I was supposed to stand by for the one in Malang.

Registration Centre was swamped with participants

Registration Centre was swamped with participants

13 cities witnessed what we had built for almost 6 month. It was not that easy as the bullshitters yelled at us. In one particular case, my lady friend was even persuaded to stay at a mosque while she was away. It was unjust tbh to assign a chick doing this risky work. Nonetheless, we are all EQUAL here. That’s a point I underline here literally.

Ssshh..!! PRELIM. ROUND is IN PROGRESS :D

Ssshh..!! PRELIM. ROUND is IN PROGRESS😀

12th October, 2013

All participants from all around the places just touched down and they all must have been astounded by the design, thanks to Rizky and his team. That day, there were two rounds all participants must undergo and there would be only 4 representatives of each city and they were gonna compete on the final round.

All this work would be nothing without the helping hands of our dear lecturers :)

All this work would be nothing without the helping hands of our dear lecturers🙂

These two rounds were similar to Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL). In each round, there were levels of difficulty and these were challenging for sure. It is undoubtedly nobody wanted to go homewards early, but this is a challenge.

LOs is always the main aspect of this occasion

LOs is always the main aspect of this occasion

Last but not least, we possessed LIAISON OFFICERS whom also worked hard to guide all participant towards their own rooms. I used to be one of them tho!! Starting from 7 a.m. and ending in the afternoon was an absolute proof that we did it all. One point I was proud of was actually that there was no incoming complaint during that single day.

27th October, 2013

2 weeks after 12, we had such a quick heartbeat again. That was a final round and all selected-participants from all Indonesian cities would come to our event anyway. It is absolutely different from the other day because we had LISTENING, GAME, WRITING, and QUIZ SECTIONS. I was eager for that.

A round-table game was a part I love in this event

A round-table game was a part I love in this event

All was started at 7 a.m. punctually. Every one of us was on standby ready for unwished things. At 8 a.m. Listening Section was begun somehow. I confessed that I was particularly not good at listening, but glancing at the participants’ eagerness doing their test just lit my willingness FYI.

Regularly, the participants would be eliminated throughout all sections till we obtained the real WINNERS. I was truly proud that the WINNER was a student of Surabaya in which I was coming from. I did appreciate and salute her!!

Here are the real winners of NEO 2013

Here are the real winners of NEO 2013

This story for me is remarkable and always beautiful to remember until uncertain times and one thing for sure that I will always cherish is a process to present this event as best as we can. I am so much thankful to have these MAJAH partners: Desfri and Dian. Without their huge effort, it would never happen as prettily as we’ve seen!!

THE END

© 2013

Leave a Reply

